Medical Biophysics Graduate Student Association


Updates, opinion pieces, and news related to the department

James Lepock Memorial Symposium: May 14, 2013

You are cordially invited to attend the James Lepock Memorial Student Symposium. This annual event, hosted by our department, is an excellent chance to get a glimpse of the variety of projects that the students in the department are pursuing. The goal of the symposium is to provide an informal setting where students from the department can present their work to the faculty and their peers. There will be two poster sessions and oral presentations from MSc and PhD students, which are to be judged by faculty and post-doctoral fellows.

This year's symposium will be held on Tuesday, May 14 in the Medical Sciences Building. We have two esteemed keynote speakers. Dr. Ian Tannock will be filling in for Dr. Mona Gauthier to give the morning keynote address. The afternoon keynote will be given by Dr. Nahum Sonenberg, James McGill Professor of Biochemistry at McGill University and Deputy Director of the Rosalind and Morris Goodman Cancer Research Centre. Oral presentations will take place in the MacLeod Auditorium and poster presentations will be held in the Stone Lobby.

Breakfast and lunch will be provided as well as coffee and refreshments served throughout the day, followed by a reception in the evening. Please remember to bring your mug to minimize our environmental impact.

For any questions regarding the event, please email us at

Registration and Abstract Submission

Abstract submission for the 2013 James Lepock Memorial Student Symposium has now closed. Those of you who submitted an abstract will receive an email with further details regarding your presentation. Prizes will be awarded for the best oral and poster presentations. All presenters will receive memorabilia.

Online registration has now closed. On-site registration will open at 9 am in the MacLeod Auditorium (Medical Sciences Building).

Symposium Program

Time Event
9:00 – 9:45 am Breakfast, Registration & Poster Set-up MacLeod Auditorium
9:45 – 10:00 am Opening Remarks MacLeod Auditorium
10:00 – 11:30 am Ph.D. Student Oral Presentations MacLeod Auditorium

10:00 am, Leena Baker Investigating the role of the polarity protein Scribble in mammary gland development

10:30 am, Samuel Oduneye Distribution of Abnormal Potentials as Characterized by Real-Time MR-Guided Electrophysiology System

11:00 am, Emilie Lalonde A Prognostic CNA Signature Sub-Stratifies Intermediate-Risk Prostate Cancer Patients

11:30 – 11:45 am Coffee Break MacLeod Auditorium
11:45 am – 12:30 pm OCI Spotlight: Dr. Ian Tannock MacLeod Auditorium
12:30 – 1:30 pm Poster Session A (odd-numbered posters) & Lunch MSB Stone Lobby
1:30 – 2:30 pm Poster Session B (even-numbered posters) & Lunch MSB Stone Lobby
2:30 – 3:45 pm M.Sc. Student Oral Presentations MacLeod Auditorium

2:30 pm, Li Zhang High Resolution Magnetic Resonance Myocardial Tissue Characterization with Reduced Datasets

2:55 pm, Elina Cook Targeting the Angiopoietin/Tie2 Pathway to Decrease Normal Tissue Damage During Radiotherapy

3:20 pm, Elizabeth de Guzman Magnetization Transfer Ratio Differences in the Adult Mouse Brain Due to Cranial Irradiation in Infancy

3:45 – 4:00 pm Coffee Break MacLeod Auditorium
4:00 – 5:00 pm JLM Keynote: Dr. Nahum Sonenberg MacLeod Auditorium
5:00 - 7:00 pm Reception and Awards MSB Stone Lobby